12
Apr
11

Webcomics


I was never much of a comic person. I read the occasional manga but generally I prefer an actual book with descriptive sentences. During university I got into reading XKCD. It’s funny, most of the comics featured are stand-alone geek humor. I still hadn’t found an on going story comic that I really enjoyed.

I started reading bits and pieces of manga. There weren’t many series I chose to read, generally I prefer anime however on a number of occasions the series deviates from the original story (I blame insanity on the part of the Anime producers – or perhaps budgetary constraints :P), and I chose to follow the intended story line. I still hadn’t developed an appreciation for comics – I was only reading manga because the story wasn’t adequately available in my preferred media (anime). When I was younger my older brother had a pre-teen love affair with the Phantom (which hung around into adulthood and finally dissipated, or at least dissolved from a shrine to a naughty habit in the closet when he got married) so I was exposed to a number of comics then:

  • The Phantom
  • Mandrake the Magician
  • Flash Gordon
  • Garfield

I’m sure there were more, but I really can’t recall any others. None of them enticed me – I still preferred to just check out the sunday comic strips in the newspaper – which once again were not reliant on any previous ones, so it didn’t matter much if you skipped it for a month or two.

Last year (coincidentally around when I started my first full time job) I came across Questionable Content. I like the art style, the humor and the characters. I suddenly have this attachment and get frustrated when I miss my daily dose of the story. I have a strong hatred for the goddamn Yelling Bird and I am tempted to purchase the stupid plushie just so I came pummel it anytime it intrudes on the normal storyline.

Today I started looking at Darwin Carmichael Is Going To Hell and once again I’m feeling that pull of interest to go back and read through the 235 (far less then when I undertook that task with QC) existing comics. Not a task to undertake lightly. I have TV series to catch up on, anime to watch, exercise to do and house work. I need a reason to devote the time it takes to get into an ongoing series of anything. Is it worth it? Do you have a criteria that ongoing stories (tv series, book series, comic series etc) have to meet for you to be willing to spend the time catching up? Do you flat out refuse to?

– MCL Signing Off

6 Responses to “Webcomics”


  1. 1 Belle
    April 12, 2011 at 9:44 am

    I don’t get into webcomics. Very few of them have that draw for me, though I do have that fondness for XKCD. My criteria for getting into TV shows which have an old history, old books, etc. is to start from the very beginning. If it catches my interest, I’ll keep going, and if it doesn’t, I’ll drop it from boredom. Many of the shows and anime that I watch are very old, I rarely watch things as they’re coming out. (Glee and Community are exceptions.)

  2. April 12, 2011 at 1:57 pm

    Hahaha, you just said everything that I think about QC and the yelling bird. Every time I see it it fills me with a disproportionate fury and then I have to explain to people why Im upset about this yelling burd thing and people think Im even crazier than I am.

  3. 3 Mulan
    April 12, 2011 at 8:36 pm

    should read axecop too

  4. 4 sweetlizbakes
    April 16, 2011 at 10:03 am

    I used to love looking at comics and drawing the characters when I was a kid. Have you ever visited theoatmeal.com? He has some pretty insanely funny comics.

  5. 6 Miranda
    May 4, 2011 at 8:42 am

    I love Questionable Content!

    However, I felt like Darwin whatever wasn’t worth the time I spent reading it. I bored easily and felt the plot could use a lot of work.


Leave a Reply

Categories

April 2011
M T W T F S S
« Mar   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 9 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 12,439 hits

