20
Apr
11

The Man Crush


The Man Crush. I think everyone has witnessed this by now. With the rise of the metro sexual the Man Crush became far more prominent. When I was younger a close friend of mine had a man crush on Stuart Townsend (Queen of the Damned)

Which I can understand, I mean that man is one fine piece of ass (Ok, I’m objectifying him, so sue me). This particular friend would make “I’d tap that” sort of statements which lead to many people assuming he was gay – despite the fact that it was completely acceptable at the same time for me to make the same sort of statements about Julia Stiles (think Save the Last Dance and 10 Things I Hate About You), Jessica Alba (think Dark Angel) and Eliza Dushku (think Buffy and Tru Calling).

The Man Crush has evolved to the point where, at least in my social circle, long running gay jokes are the norm. If I were to take them seriously then my fiancee is busy getting it on with 80% of the blokes we hang out with (I have my eye on you Josh!). Go back to the pre-metro time period and you would find many men willing to beat the crap out of any guy who would make those sort of comments. Despite the numerous draw backs of the Metro (any man spending more time on their hair then their partner needs to reassess), the metro movement appears to have helped many guys become more comfortable with their sexuality and allows them to openly recognise that another member of their gender is visually appealing without the fear of people making assumptions about their sexual preferences.

This move has also helped create a less hostile environment for homosexuals (IMHO). I bet if you go back 20-30 years many people would have trouble thinking of 2 or 3 people they knew who were openly gay – I can name at least 8 off the top of my head. This is progress. I approve of this step towards acceptance :). So men – feel free to take care in your appearance, there is nothing wrong with hugging another dude, letting a tear slip at a chick flick will not get you castrated (Unless your man crush is on Beiber, then all bets are off).

So blokes out there, who have YOU had a man crush on?

Best/Funniest Description of a Man Crush: Jimperfections – Man Crush

Signing Off – MCL

2 Responses to “The Man Crush”


  1. 1 Glenn Melius
    April 20, 2011 at 10:20 pm

    I love this blog! Anyhow… I genuinely enjoy visiting your site because you guys often supply perfect articles about my popular topics. Informative post.. I enjoyed it once again. I have already add this blog to my faves. I am planning to subscribe to the websites feed as well. Thanks for the awesome post. I am glad you took the time to post it. Thanks

  2. 2 sweetlizbakes
    April 26, 2011 at 1:35 am

    Ha! Love this post! My husband had a man crush on Brady Quinn, the quarterback for Notre Dame. He would call him the “vanilla gorilla”. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

April 2011
M T W T F S S
« Mar   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 9 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 12,439 hits

